Contact | 中文 | CAS  
   |  Home  |  Research  |  People  |  News  |  Labs  |  Fellowships&Cooperation  |  Education |
About XAO
Location:Home > About XAO > History
After the former Soviet Union successfully launched the world's first artificial satellite,the Chinese Academy of Sciences formed China's "Chinese Academy of satellite observation system" on October 15 in the same year. By November, 12 optical observation satellite stations were set up. Urumqi Satellite observation station (Urumqi Astronomical Station, the predecessor) is one of them with system number 211 (the number changed to 281 on 27th, March, 1958). 

Teachers from Xinjiang Bayi Agricultural Water Research Group, Department of Physics, were responsible for optical observation satellites from October 1958 onwards as well as took the responsibility of sending the required information.
Urumqi Satellite Observation Station 
Observing with Wide Angle Telescope 
 Optical Telescope and Doule Frequency Antenna
Rb Atomic Clock and Standard Time Frequency System
September, 1982, the UAO installed solar chromosphere, photosphere binoculars telescope (objective diameter of 180mm) and put it to use.
Solar Chromosphere and Photosphere Telescope
August 1983, the UAO installed 3.2cm band radio telescope (diameter 2 m). It is the first in Xinjiang solar radio patrol equipment and the first radio telescope in Xinjiang.
3.2cm Waveband Telescope
October 26, 1987 CAS formally approved to rename Urumqi Satellite observation station as Urumqi Astronomical Observatory, CAS. August 30, 1991 A foundation stone lying ceremony for Nanshan baseline station (VLBI) was held. October 28, 1992 25 m radio telescope succeeded in lifting.
25m Radio Telescope
November 22, 1993, 25 meter radio telescope of Urumqi Astronomical Station at Nanshan station came into operation. 1999, UAO with other observatories of CAS, together enter into the Knowledge Innovation Project of the first batch of pilot units.  April, 2011, after the establishment of the National Astronomical Observatories, Urumqi Astronomical observatory renamed as "Urumqi Astronomical Observatory, NAOC, CAS".
XAO Headquarters
June 24, 2002, Famous winner of the Nobel Prize in Physics, foreign academicians of CAS, Samuel Chao Chung Ting visited Nanshan site of XAO. And the inscription reads, “It is an honor for me to be here. I learned a lot and am very impressed by the research here .  It is world class work.” December 21, 2004, research and administrative building of XAO was inaugurated. June 27, 2005,  First graduate commencement ceremony of XAO was held. June, 2006, XAO was officially approved as a doctoral program in Astrophysics. December, 2007, XAO held a celebration to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the establishment of XAO. September, 2008, XAO held its Astronomy post-doctoral research station opening ceremony.
Postdoctoral Programme
Erkenjiang Tulahong, Standing Committee Member of CPC Committee of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region attended the ceremony. May, 2009, Radio Astrophysics Laboratory of XAO was awarded the Key Laboratory of Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region.
Awarding Ceremony
March, 2010, “To Build Large-aperture Radio Telescope in Xinjiang” symposium was held at Tu Ha Mansion. Zhan Wenlong, vice president of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Yang Gang,Executive Vice-Chairman of the Government of the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region and other relevant leaders attended the meeting. August, 27, 2011, the opening ceremony of Xinjiang Astronomical Observatory was held at Urumqi Tu Ha Massion. Bai Chunli, president of CAS, inspected XAO and gave inscription, and Jin Nuo, Vice-Chairman of the Government of the Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region, jointly inaugurated Xinjiang Astronomical Observatory and delivered speech.
Unveiling Ceremony 
First prophase work team of Xinjiang 110-m radio telescope meeting was held at Urumqi Tu Ha Mansion, on the same date. July 15th, 2012, Qitai Base Groundbreaking Ceremony was held at Shihezi Pasture, Banjiegou Town of Qitai County. Zhan Wenlong, Vice President of the Chinese academy of sciences, Erkenjiang Tulahong,Member of the Standing Committee of the CPC Xinjiang Autonomous Region as well as Jin Nuo,Vice President of Xinjiang Autonomous Region were present.

Welcome to Xinjiang Astronomical Observatory © 2013
Address: 150 Science 1-Street, Urumqi, Xinjiang 830011, China
Tel: +86-991-3689373 Fax: +86-991-3838628